Valdoltra

Valdoltra by Tomaz Salamun

People die with their eyes apart.

Death scratches the throats of the onlookers,

but never of the dying one.

I think about cushions. People standing around

annoy me. I think that there isn’t any

greenery. How will I cope with it?

I used to walk to work where there were

green bushes. When I was young

I rode that way, but never in winter.

Nothing green was there. People

standing around annoy me. Nobody

understands me. Will you write? Will you

talk to me? How will I cope without

the greenery I’ve been used to all my life.

       (Translated from the Slovenian by Joshua Beckman and the author)

from Artful Dodge 48/49

About artfuldodgewooster

Ohio based literary magazine, now over twenty years old, still in print, and gradually spreading across the digital world. Official Website: artfuldodge.sites.wooster.edu
This entry was posted in Poetry, Translations and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

