In Code

Something that I think really makes the Artful Dodge one-of-a-kind is our special care with translations. Translating is a laborious effort, and can often prove unfruitful. However, there are many writers who are dedicated to re-creating the reading experience for literature across languages. Some poems that I recently came across are featured in AD 48/49 and were originally written in Chinese by Lady Huarui, a pseudonym given to a collective of poets who lived during the Tang Dynasty, and translated by Jeanne Larson. I was expecting to find some stiff collection of lines, robbed of melody and stripped of fluid movement, but I was pleasantly surprised by how naturally these poems flowed. They were easy to read and easy to want to read. Although I can’t speak to the exactness of the translations (I don’t speak Chinese, or read it, if you were wondering), I can tell right away that a translation is good if it seamlessly creates the world it portrayed in its original tongue.

There were a few other things in this issue of the Dodge that I found engaging, but I can’t give away all of my secrets in one go.

 

Until soon,

autumn, Editorial Asst.

 

 

As a thank you for partaking in my efforts to stay sane this summer, I’d like to offer you a discount on all Artful Dodge issues (well, aside from the ones we don’t have, of course). I would be tickled pink if you sent me a letter in response to any of my summer hits along with a check for a Dodge of your choosing. Or, if you’re not the letter-loving rascal I thought you were, then it is just as acceptable to send in a small note saying “autumn sent me.” That, dears, will get you a dollar off any of our issues (that includes our current issue, AD 52/53), making back issues $4 and our current issue $11.
This offer stands until September 1st, when our online submissions platform goes live, and you can order issues directly through Submittable.
About artfuldodgewooster

Ohio based literary magazine, now over twenty years old, still in print, and gradually spreading across the digital world. Official Website: artfuldodge.sites.wooster.edu
This entry was posted in Poetry, Summer, Translations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

