Picture This

I think it’s kind of weird how places become more than just physical landmarks once people have touched them. That probably sounds weird but I’m not sure how else to say it: a place becomes more than itself once we start associating things with it, like people we’ve met and grown close to, and memories we’ve had in those places. Of course, this is an ongoing process where some random house a few doors down may not have much meaning to you until you go there, but it means something to the person already there.

… Anyway, I was really struck by this feeling while I was reading through AD 26/27. I’ve already talked a little bit about place so I’ll try not to repeat myself too much, but I was part comforted and part distraught when I was reading James Reidel’s translation from the German of Thomas Bernhard’s poem “My Parents’ House,” and I wanted to share that here. I was comforted by the familiarity of the feeling of being at home, but caught off guard with Reidel’s care towards the complexities of being home that are often over-looked: Reidel’s image of the home wasn’t just some pastoral dreamscape. The more I read, the more I realize how integral a sense of place is to our experiences, and the more I realize how well Artful Dodge integrates literature that has such a strong sense of place in its pages.

 

Safe travels,

—autumn, Editorial Asst.—

 

As a thank you for partaking in my efforts to stay sane this summer, I’d like to offer you a discount on all Artful Dodge issues (well, aside from the ones we don’t have, of course). I would be tickled pink if you sent me a letter in response to any of my summer hits along with a check for a Dodge of your choosing. Or, if you’re not the letter-loving rascal I thought you were, then it is just as acceptable to send in a small note saying “autumn sent me.” That, dears, will get you a dollar off any of our issues (that includes our current issue, AD 52/53), making back issues $4 and our current issue $11.
This offer stands until September 1st, when our online submissions platform goes live, and you can order issues directly through Submittable.
About artfuldodgewooster

Ohio based literary magazine, now over twenty years old, still in print, and gradually spreading across the digital world. Official Website: artfuldodge.sites.wooster.edu
This entry was posted in Poetry, Summer, Translations. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Picture This

  1. Quantum mechanics says that matter behaves differently when observed, so maybe we give places value in the changing. Your post reminds me of one I did a while back, perhaps you read it… https://erichmichaels.wordpress.com/2015/06/21/house-on-the-corner/

Leave a Reply

