The Divorcees

As I close out on this wonderfully wordy ride, I’d like to go back to where it all began for me. When I was a freshman, the first copy of the Dodge that I came in contact with was issue 50/51. For that reason, it has a bit of a special place in my heart (yeah, yeah, even I’m not immune to nostalgia). The first story that I read from AD was “Plastination” by Brian Beglin (and I know I’ve already mentioned this story so I won’t get too caught up on it). This story is one of the most recent examples of a story that creates its own world-logic. The thing is, the logic isn’t even anything different from our own, it’s just applied to a fad that in our world is physically impossible, but the driving emotion is all too common.

But I don’t want to get hung up solely on “Plastination.” I’d like to also talk about Lynn Levin’s re-imagination of Eve and Lilith. I often find myself turned away from literary re-creations of biblical figures because I find that they often don’t really develop the characters of the existing cast. But Levin’s characters are different. Adam’s wives have not just fled the pages of the Bible, but have fluttered into a department store to escape the Bible’s sexually-constricting script, finding themselves unchained from any implied guilt, even while a mysterious eye looks on.

Reading Levin’s poems gave me a feeling of empowerment. Seeing these traditionally strictly casted women liberated from their original characters gave them the ability to shine in a way I haven’t seen in other reproductions of biblical lore.

 

With this, my last summer hit, I bid you adieu

—autumn, Editorial Asst.

 

 

As a thank you for partaking in my efforts to stay sane this summer, I’d like to offer you a discount on all Artful Dodge issues (well, aside from the ones we don’t have, of course). I would be tickled pink if you sent me a letter in response to any of my summer hits along with a check for a Dodge of your choosing. Or, if you’re not the letter-loving rascal I thought you were, then it is just as acceptable to send in a small note saying “autumn sent me.” That, dears, will get you a dollar off any of our issues (that includes our current issue, AD 52/53), making back issues $4 and our current issue $11.

This offer stands until September 1st, when our online submissions platform goes live, and you can order issues directly through Submittable.

About artfuldodgewooster

Ohio based literary magazine, now over twenty years old, still in print, and gradually spreading across the digital world. Official Website: artfuldodge.sites.wooster.edu
This entry was posted in Poetry, Summer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

